Academic
Search Premier
A collection of active full text peer-reviewed journals covering biology,
chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, and religion & theology.
America
the Beautiful Authoritative information on the 50 states
and U.S. territories, including essays on their history, geography, economy,
government, culture, major cities, photos, interactive maps, and audio
slide shows. Other
features include essays on each of the U.S. presidents; articles on dozens
of Native American tribes; biographies of New World explorers; articles
on famous places and natural wonders; timelines of U.S. and world history
and U.S. achievements in science, the arts, and literature; an array of
educational games and puzzles relating to American history; and an Almanac
that brings together the statistics about each state into a single reference
tool.
American
History Online
America's
GenealogyBank Access millions of U.S. genealogical records
from 1652 to the present day. Find and browse digital images of American
historical genealogies, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements,
casualty lists, military and government documents and other essential
primary sources. Also includes full text of modern U.S. newspaper obituaries
and enhanced Social Security Death Index records.
America's
Historical Newspapers A compilation of more than 1,000 digitized
U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, ranging from
early colonial publications to regional weekly and metropolitan daily
newspapers to the specialized press. Created through partnerships with
the American Antiquarian Society and the Library of Congress.
Ancestry
Library Edition *(Available in library only) A subscription
genealogical database powered by ancestry.com which provides instant access
to over 1.5 billion names, access to immigration records, city directories,
census records, the Social Security Death Index and much more. New information
is added daily.
Auto Repair Reference Center
View
a tutorial
(This
presentation requires Adobe Flash - Download
Flash here)
Includes automotive repair information supplied by Point
5 Technologies, Inc., under license from Nichols Publishing, the former
publisher of Chilton® Information and information from Delphi Integrated
Service Solutions. Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on
most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. Database
content includes approximately 26,000 vehicles covered from 1945 to present;
over 150,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; approximately
70,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original
equipment vehicle manufacturer; over 100,000 enhanced wiring diagrams
for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules;
Labor Time Guide & Estimator; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle
ownership & maintenance; and much more.
Biography in Context This is a one-stop biographical research system that
incorporates simple search functionality with an exhaustive database.
Recently upgraded, it contains more than 500,000 biographies on nearly
275,000 people. In addition to traditional reference source
material, the database includes video, audio, and podcasts.
BookBrowse
Reviews, recommendations, author bios and interviews, resources for book
clubs, and much more.
Business
Insights: EssentialsThis is the ideal resource to learn more than just the basic information
on any given company or industry. Research global business information,
case studies, competitive intelligence, and career & investment opportunities.
It allows searches of individual companies and supports research that
compares companies within the context of their peers and industry.
Business
Source Premier
Provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including
marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. Additional
full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry
reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Business Source Premier is also searchable through the Business
Searching Interface. This business specific interface provides
business researchers with the highly-refined tools that they need in order
to conduct sophisticated searches for the business content that they require.
View
a tutorial
(This
presentation requires Adobe Flash - Download
Flash here)
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients'
information needs with content covering all areas of health and wellness
from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic
and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as
aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition &
dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Information
provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis
or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
View
a tutorial
(This
presentation requires Adobe Flash - Download
Flash here)
Encyclopedia
Americana provides comprehensive coverage for in-depth
research. Articles are contributed by specialists in their respective
disciplines and cover all academic fields and curriculum topics. Also
features frequently consulted biographies and includes articles from Americana
Journal with photos from the Associated Press. "Editor's Picks"
feature current topics with selected reading and website links.
ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education
literature and resources. The database provides access to information
from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and
Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200
digests along with references for additional information and citations
and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Filmakers
Library Online Provides award-winning documentaries with
relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights,
globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations,
criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science
and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents
points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures
and traditions world-wide.
Funk
& Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Easy-to-read encyclopedic
entries written specifically for kids.
Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia is a quick reference tool with text and
graphics that will appeal
to a wide audience. Search articles by word or browse subject categories.
Includes Timelines, from 6000 BC to AD 2000, arranged by themes (such
as "Novel in Europe and the Americans, 1830-1914" or "Scientific
Thought, 1830-1920"). Brain Jam is an electronic magazine that presents
interesting monthly features, news items, an event planner, quizzes and
an archive of past features. The News section looks at five major news
stories every week and the Research Starters provide introductory essays
about selected topics with links to further information within the encyclopedia,
and suggestions for research questions. Also included are maps, photos,
tables, videos, and teacher's resources.
Grolier Online Kids provides simple searching, age-appropriate
current events and easy navigation for younger students into a core database
collection including: The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia,
Encyclopedia Americana, The New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples,
and American the Beautiful. Also includes an interactive atlas, dictionaries,
thesauri, biographies, and science projects.
Grolier
Online Passport provides a sophisticated starting point for
older students and adults with more advanced search features, in-depth
current-events from sources like the Associated Press, access to worldwide
news sources, and Pro/Con debates aimed at promoting higher-level critical
thinking skills. Includes The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia
Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, The New Book of Popular Science,
Lands and Peoples, and American the Beautiful. Also includes an interactive
atlas, dictionaries, thesauri, biographies, and science projects.
Heritage
Quest A powerful online library
which researches family history and American culture through original
page images and indexes. Search US Census records from 1790-1930 or find
information described in over 25,000 family & local histories.
Issues
and Controversies
Lands
and Peoples is an encyclopedia
of countries, cultures, and current international events. It includes
articles on the continents and countries of the world with flags, color
photos, and pre-screened Internet links. The "Global News Desk"
features a weekly spotlight on three current-event stories. "Culture
Cross" allows direct on-screen comparisons between countries, "Passport
to Fun" includes games, puzzles, quizzes, and brainteasers, and the
"Almanac" has dozens of tables, listings, and statistics.
Learning Express Library
is an online database to test preparation in basic skills and career
advancement. Includes practice tests for: academic, advanced placement,
basic skills success, civil service, college preparation, cosmotology,
EMS, ESL (Spanish) skills improvment courses, firefighter, GED, graduate
school entrance, law enforment, military, real estate, skills improvment
courses, teacher certification, technical and career college, and US citizenship.Take
a practice test anywhere you can access the internet! Computer
Skills Product Sheet
Literary
Reference Center combines information from major respected
reference works, books, and literary journals. It contains plot summaries,
synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and
interviews, book reviews, poems, short stories, full text of more than
7,500 classic novels, and more. Also includes more than 500 books from
the Bloom Series
and Masterplots.
MAS
Ultra: School Edition Contains full text for popular, high
school magazines, biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, reference
books, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags. Also includes
the Our States reference book series from Great Neck Publishing, a collection
of 54 titles on each of the states, commonwealths and territories in the
United States. This comprehensive series has carefully-written, in-depth
articles covering each state's history, and includes information on the
economy, geography, natural resources, wildlife, state flags and landmarks.
Biographies on each state's governors, senators and representatives, as
well as other leaders are also included.
MasterFILE Premier Contains full text for more than
1,900 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education,
general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also
contains full text for reference books, biographies, primary source documents,
and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
Middle
Search Plus Contains full text for popular, middle school
magazines, biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally,
Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential
Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk &
Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, the
Encyclopedia of Animals, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Also includes the Our States reference book series from Great Neck Publishing,
a collection of 54 titles on each of the states, commonwealths and territories
in the United States. This comprehensive series has carefully-written,
in-depth articles covering each state's history, and includes information
on the economy, geography, natural resources, wildlife, state flags and
landmarks. Biographies on each state's governors, senators and representatives,
as well as other leaders are also included.
Middle Search Plus is also searchable through the Student
Research Center, Kids
Search, and Searchasaurus
interfaces.
Morningstar
Investment Research Center provides data on over 14,500 stocks,
24,800 mutual funds, 1,500 exchange-traded funds, and 700 closed end funds.
Also provided are analyst reports on over 3,500 securities, offering in-depth
background and analyst opinions on top investments.
Muzzy
Online
This award-winning language program from the BBC is now available online!
Available languages include English, French, Italian, German, Spanish,
Mandarin Chinese, Portugese and Russian.
Nashua Telegraph Presents
complete full text content of local and regional news, including community
events, school politics, government policies, cultural activities, local
& state commerce and people in the community. Paid advertisements
are excluded.
New Book of Knowledge
provides reference and current
events for grades 3 and up. Students can search or browse encyclopedia
articles alphabetically or by subject. Also includes projects and experiments,
a world history timeline, educational games, and recommended websites.
New
Book of Popular Science is a science encyclopedia geared to student
readers with up to date, interactive articles on science, technology,
and
medical topics. Entries include full-color photos, detailed scientific
artwork and technical illustrations, maps, and bibliographies. Also included
are science-inspired games and puzzles, conversion tables and charts,
recommended websites, and a Teacher's Guide.
Newsbank
Complete full text of the Concord Monitor, Nashua Telegraph,
and Union Leader & NH Sunday News. Also
includes special reports and article collections on current events. Updated
daily.
Newspaper
Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national
(U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science
Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and
the Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text
for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston
Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News
(New York), and the San Jose Mercury News. In addition,
full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS
News, FOX News, and NPR.
Newspaper Source is also searchable through the Student
Research Center, Kids
Search, and Searchasaurus
interfaces.
Novelist
& NoveList
K-8 let you to use your favorite author to link to other
books you might enjoy. You can also "describe a plot" and review
books that meet the description. Novelist also provides annotated book
lists, reviews, author "read alikes" and websites, book discussion
guides, and more. Updated monthly.
Primary
Search contains full text for popular, elementary school
magazines and student pamphlets. Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals,
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's
Dictionary, and an Image Collection.
Primary Search is also searchable through the Kids
Search, and Searchasaurus
interfaces.
Professional
Development Collection Intended for professional educators,
school library media specialists, and educations researchers. Includes
all major library periodicals and the most commonly requested education
journals such as Education Digest, Reading Teacher, and School Library
Journal.
ProQuest
News & Magazines provides access to a wide range of popular
topics such as the arts, business, health, sciences, and humanities. The
database combines high-demand magazines and journals with a newspaper
package that includes The Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Boston
Globe and USA Today.
ReferenceUSA Provides current directory information on
120 million U.S.
residential households and 12 million businesses nationwide. Market research can done by company name, geographical
area, SIC code, business size, and yellow page heading. Customized lists of companies can be produced.
Regional
Business News provides comprehensive full text for more than
50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).
Updated daily.
Science
Online provides a comprehensive, authoritative overview a
broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays,
diagrams, illustrations,
images, biographies, experiments, and activities.
TopicSearch
Great for issue-based research and current events. This full text database
allows students to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific
discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions
and viewpoints. Contains articles from periodicals, international and
regional newspapers, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews,
pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database.
TopicSearch is also searchable through the Student
Research Center, Kids
Search, and Searchasaurus
interfaces.
|
|
|